ASEE Academy of Fellows Minutes of Annual Meeting – Tuesday, June 26, 2019, Tampa, FL

The breakfast meeting was called to order at 8:30 a.m. by Tom Roberts, Chair, ASEE Academy of Fellows. Newsletter Editor Lucy Morse was introduced and thanked for her service. Past Chair Mary Anderson-Rowland has retired from Arizona State and was not present. Craig Gunn served as official photographer.

The purpose of the meeting was to 1) Celebrate past successes and service to ASEE; and, 2) Encourage those present to help recognize volunteers deserving of ASEE Fellow recognition.

Sixty not-so-new Fellows introduced themselves along with updates about those absent. Seven of 9 new 2019 Fellows attended the breakfast, were welcomed, and, introduced themselves: (Lisa Benson (Clemson), Angela Bielefeldt (Univ Co – Boulder), Ann Christy (Ohio State), Milo Koretsky (Oregon State Univ), Anna McKenna (Arizona State Univ), John Falconer (Univ Co – Boulder), & Julie Martin (Clemson). Lisa Bullard (NC State Univ) & Joseph Hekert (NC State Univ) were presenting at a paper session and could not attend.

Tom distributed the attendance roster – Sixty-seven Fellows/guests signed-in. Tom also asked attendees to fill out the Fellow news information forms placed at each table or to send news to tcr@ksu.edu

There was a moment of silence for departed Fellows.

2018 Meeting minutes were distributed at each table, there were no additions / corrections. Approved.

Ashok Agrawal, Managing Director, Professional Services, (representing Exec. Dir. Norman Fortenberry) welcomed Fellows and thanked them for their service to ASEE. He recognized thanked the elected leadership of ASEE, Bevlee Watford, Past President, Stephanie Farrell, President, Stephanie Adams, President Elect, and soon-to-be President Elect Sheryl Sorby. Ashok updated those present on 1) Improved ASEE finances-adding net assets over reserves with goal of 2M; 2) Increased membership – individual & institutional; 3) Monolith going away/new AMS, IMS & LMS system in 18 months; 4) New profile data system.

ASEE 2018-2019 President Stephanie Farrell, Rowan University, was introduced and thanked for her service to ASEE. She highlighted the Board of Directors efforts to increase member feedback and engagement, and, encouraged the Fellows to bring actionable recommendations for improvement back to the leadership. Also, she noted that work was being done to provide a mothers' room, gender neutral restrooms.

Old Business: Tom Roberts provided an update on efforts to create on-line ASEE Fellows History, thanking Lyle Feisel (who was unable to attend the conference) for his leadership. A special thank you to 31 Fellows who completed their history <u>https://ethw.org/First-Hand:ASEE Fellows</u>. Instructions for creating member histories and posting them on-line were distributed at the tables and in the June 2019 Newsletter.

All present were asked to seek new Fellow candidates and support the nomination process. Quality letter writing is preferred to brief one paragraph nomination statements.

New business: Tom Roberts introduced the nominating committee's recommendation for officer elections: Sarah Rajala, Chair & Frank Croft, Vice-Chair/Secretary. Tom Roberts will serve as Past Chair/Newsletter Editor. The nominees agreed to serve for two years as outlined in the Academy of Fellows Bylaws. Motion made to accept the nominating committee report, seconded and approved. The "official" Past-President Bill Wilhelm gavel was passed to incoming Chair Rajala.

The next meeting of Academy of Fellows is planned for: Tuesday, June 23, 2020, Montreal Quebec, Canada. New Fellows were asked to stay for photos with photographer Craig Gunn. Meeting adjourned at 9:20 a.m.