## ASEE Academy of Fellows Minutes of Annual Meeting – Wednesday, June 29, 2016 New Orleans LA

The breakfast meeting was called to order at 8:45 a.m. by Wally Fowler, Chair. ASEE Academy of Fellows. Past Chair Mary Anderson-Rowland, Chair-elect Tom Roberts and Newsletter Editor Lucy Morse were introduced as current officers.

New 2016 fellows able to attend the breakfast were welcomed / introduced (John Estell, Ronald Land, Teresa Larkin, Thomas Lenox, Elizabeth Parry, Donna Reese, and Donna Riley). Eleven new Fellows were highlighted in the June 2016 newsletter. Not-so-new Fellows were introduced along with updates about those absent. Sixty-one Fellows/guests signed the attendance rosters circulated by Lucy.

The first order of business was a moment of silence for departed Fellows.

Wally thanked Lucy for preparation of the recent newsletter. In addition to member updates and general information, two Fellows were highlighted as recipients of American Association of Engineering Societies (AAES) special awards:

- 1) National Engineering Award to Past ASEE President Sarah Rajala, Dean, College of Engineering Iowa State University for outstanding leadership, innovation in engineering education, and efforts to promote diversity in engineering.
- John Fritz Medal to Vincent Poor, NAE, Dean School of Engineering & Applied Science, Princeton University for outstanding contributions to the fields of modern communications and signal processing.

2015-2016 President Joe Rencis was introduced and updated progress on the Strategic Doing Process and thanked ASEE Board Members in attendance for their service. Treasurer Terri Morse provided an ASEE financial update and information on Sustaining University support, Bass Accounts, and awards/endowment funding.

Executive Director, Dr. Norman Fortenberry was introduced, recognized ASEE staff and provided remarks about the Annual Conference, headquarters operations and the pending ASEE 125<sup>th</sup> Anniversary Celebration.

Walt Buchanan and Wally Fowler have been asked by Norman to serve as co-chairs of a committee to recommend anniversary celebration activities. Walt and Wally circulated anniversary information and encouraged those in attendance to suggest activities and volunteer to serve on the Quasquicentennial Committee.

Tom Roberts was installed as the new Chair. Wally Fowler was thanked for his service. There was no old business. New Fellows were asked to stay for photos. Lucy Morse called for newsletter input.

The next meeting of Academy of Fellows is: Wednesday, June 28, 2017, Columbus OH.

Respectfully Submitted
Tom C. Roberts, P.E. F.ASEE, F.NSPE
2014-2016 Secretary / Vice-Chair