ACADEMY OF FELLOWS ANNUAL MEETING MINUTES June 13, 2012 - San Antonio, TX

- 1. The meeting was called to order with the Bill Wilhelm Gavel at 9:15 by Fellows Chair Carl Locke.
- 2. Chair Locke called for a moment of silence to recognize members lost during the past year.
- 3. ASEE Officers in attendance were recognized: Renata Engel, Past ASEE President; Ken Galloway, ASEE President-Elect-Elect; Ray Haynes, ASEE Vice-President of Finance; Nick Altiero, Chair, Engineering Dean's Council; Walt Buchanan, ASEE President-Elect; and Don Giddens, ASEE President.
- 4. The new Fellows each introduced themselves.
- 5. This was followed by the self-introductions of the not-so-new Fellows.
- 6. Greetings were relayed from several Absent Fellows.
- 7. Recognition was given by Chair Locke to the Breakfast Sponsors (ASEE) and the ASEE Staff who helped the Fellows Academy during the year- Dwight Wardell, Tim Manicom, Sandra Wingate-Bey, and Patti Greenwalt.
- 8. ASEE President-Elect Walt Buchanan gave remarks to the Academy. An emphasis of his administration will be community colleges.
- 9. ASEE President Don Giddens then gave his comments.
- 10. Old Business was called for, but there was none.
- 11. New Business was invited. Andy Perna responded with a motion to commend Frank Gourley for his excellent work publishing the Fellows Newsletter. This motion was approved by all Fellows present. Frank thanked everyone for their contributions to the Newsletter. He acknowledged that the process was a lot of work, but that it was also fun.

Rich Felder was congratulated for being selected as the first recipient of the ASEE Life-Time Achievement in Engineering Education Award. Lyle Feisel was commended for having organized and raised the money for this endowed award. The award fund is now close to \$50,000.

Lyle noted that the Award Selection Committee was not the same as the Fundraising Committee. The purpose of the award is to choose an ASEE member that young people can recognize as a role model. Lyle also informed the Academy that as he has eased in and out of retirement he used to have problems with remembering things that had happened. He reported that he no longer has that problem. His problem now is that he is remembering things that have not happened.

- 12. Sarah Rajala gave the Report of the Nominating Committee. The Nominating Committee consisted of Bill Wilhelm, Mary Anderson-Rowland, and Sarah. The new nominee is Wally Fowler for Secretary and Chair-Elect.
- 13. Election of Officers: Sarah then presented the slate of officers for 2012-2014. Chair: Mary Anderson-Rowland; Secretary and President-Elect: Wally Fowler; Newsletter Editor: Frank Gourley. A motion to accept the slate was made and seconded. The Academy passed the motion.

- 14. ASEE Executive Director Norm Fortenberry presented comments to the assembly. Chair Locke thanked Norm for ASEE's subsidizing of the Fellows Breakfast.
- 15. Chair Carl Locke transferred the Bill Wilhelm Gavel to new Chair, Mary Anderson-Rowland. Mary thanked Chair Locke for his two years of dedicated service to the Fellows Academy. Chair Anderson-Rowland advised the members that it was always good to learn a second language. (This worked especially well for a Momma Cat with her kittens which were being pestered by a dog.)
- 16. Members were asked to stay for photos of New Fellows and Award Recipients.
- 17. The next meeting of the Academy of Fellows will be June 26, 2013 in Atlanta, Georgia.
- 18. Chair Anderson-Rowland adjourned the meeting with the Bill Wilhelm Gavel at 10:10am.

Attendance: 62

Respectfully Submitted,
Mary Anderson-Rowland
Secretary and President-Elect

Those recording their attendance (55) at the Fellows meeting included:

Robert Mott, University of Dayton; Renata Engel, Penn State; Angelo Perna, NJIT; Ray Jacquot, Univ. of WY; Joseph Shaeiwitz, West Virginia Univ; Andrew Pytel, Penn State; John W. Prados, Univ. of Tennessee; Larry Wolf, Oregon Inst. of Tech.; John A. Weese, Texas A&M College Station, Retired; Adeyinka A. Adeyiga, Hampton University; Sarah Rajala, Mississippi State Univ.; Eugene M. DeLoatch, Morgan State Univ.; Theodore —Ted A. Bickart, Colorado School of Mines, Retired; Wallace Fowler, U. of Texas, Austin; Lyle Feisel, SUNY - Binghamton, Retired; Lia Brillhart, TRITON; Jim Melsa, Iowa State Univ.; Ray Haynes, Cal Poly/Northrop Grumman; Ray Morrison, Lockheed Martin/ LASL/Univ of Calif; Paul Peercy, U. Wisconsin-Madison; Charles Haines, RIT; Joe Rencis, Tennessee Tech U.; Robert H. Todd, BYU; Tom Roberts; Kansas State Univ.; Larry Genalo, Iowa State U; Jerry Thuesen, Georgia Tech; Ed Segner, Univ. of Ala. – Birmingham; Dan Budny, Univ. of Pittsburgh; Teri Reed-Rhoads, Purdue, W. Lafayette, Linda Krute, North Carolina State U; Dennis Fallon, The Citadel; Bill Oakes, Purdue Univ; Marvin Criswell, Colorado State U; Don Giddens, Georgia Tech; Karl Smith, U Minnesota & Purdue U; Matthew Ohland, Purdue U; John Heywood, U of Dublin, Trinity College; Rich Felder, N. C. State University; Mary Anderson-Rowland, Arizona State University; Carl Locke, Univ of Kansas; Edwin C Jones, Jr., Iowa State U/U of St Thomas; Jeffrey E. Froyd, Texas A&M University; Diane Rover, Iowa State Univ; Larry Shuman, U. of Pittsburgh; Mary Besterfield, U. of Pittsburgh; Ken Galloway, Vanderbilt U.; Ron Barr, U. Texas – Austin; Ernest Smerdon, U. of Arizona; Frank Croft, Ohio State University; Duane Abata, S. D. School of Mines; Pat Fox, IUPUI; Lucy Morse, UCF; Charlie McIntyre, NDSU; Robert (Bob) Herrick, Purdue University; Thomas (Tom) Hall, Northwestern State U.; Larry G. Richards, Univ. of Virginia; Maarwan Simaan, UCF; Nick Altiero, Tulane; Marilyn Dyrud, OIT; Walter Buchanan, Texas A&M; Jane Fraser, Colorado State-Pueblo; Frank Gourley, WVU Inst. of Tech, Retired

Note: There wasn't room to include email addresses or telephone numbers for those attending, but they are available. If you would like a copy, contact Frank Gourley at fgourley@wvutech.edu